Garage
Does the garage to house door need a fire rating?
Not necessarily rated, always self-closing, and the step is a stair rule, not the exterior door rule most people quote.
On this page (8 sections)
- Three doors the IRC accepts, and only one of them is rated
- Why "fire rated" is the answer people remember
- Self-closing, automatic-closing and the latch
- The step is a stair, so the 7 3/4 in riser governs
- Why 1 1/2 in is quoted, and why it is the wrong rule
- How much garage depth the step and the swing cost
- England: E 30 Sa, a closer and a 100 mm upstand
- When these numbers stop applying
Short answer
Under the IRC the door needs no fire label: a solid wood or steel door at least 1 3/8 in (35 mm) thick qualifies, as does any 20-minute rated door, and it must be self-latching with a self-closing or automatic-closing device. The step down is a stair, so one riser may be 7 3/4 in (196 mm) with no landing, provided the door does not swing over it. England asks for an FD30S door with a closer and a 100 mm (4 in) upstand or a floor falling away.
The numbers, at a glance
- IRC door, unrated option
- 1 3/8 in (35 mm) solid wood or steelHoneycomb-core steel also qualifies
- IRC door, rated option
- 20 minutesNo thickness stated for this option
- IRC closing and latching
- Self-latching plus self-closing or automatic-closingAutomatic-closing added in the 2018 IRC
- IRC maximum riser
- 7 3/4 in (196 mm)A single step is a stair in IRC terms
- IRC landing where the door swings over the step
- 36 in (914 mm) deepNo landing needed if it swings into the house
- IRC handrail trigger
- 4 risersThree risers or fewer need no handrail
- England door
- E 30 Sa (FD30S)Approved Document B, Table C1
- England step at the door
- 100 mm (4 in) minimumOr a garage floor falling away to the outside
- IRC wall on the garage side
- 1/2 in (12.7 mm) gypsum board5/8 in Type X under rooms above
In the US the door between an attached garage and the house does not have to be fire rated. It has to be solid and at least 1 3/8 in (35 mm) thick, or carry a 20-minute rating, and in every case it has to latch itself and close itself. The step down to the garage is governed by the stair rules, not the exterior door rules, which allows a single 7 3/4 in (196 mm) riser with no landing as long as the door swings into the house. England wants a tested 30-minute door with smoke seals, and a step with a minimum rather than a maximum. The vehicle door is a separate subject, on garage door sizes and headroom.
Three doors the IRC accepts, and only one of them is rated#
The 2021 International Residential Code, Section R302.5.1, reads in full on the door: openings between the garage and residence "shall be equipped with solid wood doors not less than 1 3/8 inches (35 mm) in thickness, solid or honeycomb-core steel doors not less than 1 3/8 inches (35 mm) thick, or 20-minute fire-rated doors. Doors shall be self-latching and equipped with a self-closing or automatic-closing device."
Three routes, and two involve no fire test.
| Option under R302.5.1 | Thickness | Label needed | What fails it |
|---|---|---|---|
| Solid wood | 1 3/8 in (35 mm) minimum | No | A hollow-core leaf of the same thickness |
| Solid-core steel | 1 3/8 in (35 mm) minimum | No | A thinner leaf |
| Honeycomb-core steel | 1 3/8 in (35 mm) minimum | No | A thinner leaf |
| 20-minute fire-rated | Not stated | Yes, 20 minutes | A leaf with no rating mark |
The same section opens with an absolute: no openings from a private garage directly into a room used for sleeping purposes. No door cures it, so the garage opens into a hall, a utility room or a mudroom.
The rest of R302.5 and R302.6 covers the wall around the door: at least 1/2 in (12.7 mm) gypsum board on the garage side, 5/8 in (15.9 mm) Type X under habitable rooms above, and any duct in the garage or through the separation of No. 26 gage (0.48 mm) sheet steel with no openings into the garage. A compliant door beside a supply grille cut through the wall has not achieved the separation.
Why "fire rated" is the answer people remember#
Summaries say "fire-rated door" because the 20-minute option is the one with a name. In the sentence itself the rating is the third of three alternatives, joined by "or", and a 1 3/8 in solid-core door with a closer complies without ever having been tested. The rated door persists as the answer because a label proves itself to an inspector, while a painted solid wood door has to be shown to be solid.
Self-closing, automatic-closing and the latch#
Before 2018 the IRC required a self-closing door, which the I Dig Hardware summary describes as equipped with a closer or spring hinges. The 2018 edition added "or automatic-closing device", and the 2021 wording adds self-latching.
An automatic-closing device, in the NFPA 80 definition the article quotes, causes the door to close when activated by a fusible link or detector. That makes a hold-open closer released by a smoke detector a compliant way to leave the door open in daily use.
| Device | Door at rest | Complies with R302.5.1 | Complies with ADB paragraph C5 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overhead or concealed closer | Closed | Yes, if it latches the door | Yes |
| Spring hinges | Closed | Yes, if they latch the door | Only if they close it fully from any open position |
| Detector-released hold-open | Open until a detector trips | Yes, as automatic-closing | Not addressed in the paragraph quoted here |
| Closer disconnected or propped | Open | No | No |
A spring hinge that swings the leaf to within an inch of the frame and stops has not met the rule, which asks for closing and latching. The test is whether the door, released from fully open, closes and latches without help; the Oakwood Doors guide puts the English version as closing the door fully into the frame from any normal open position.
The step is a stair, so the 7 3/4 in riser governs#
The IRC defines a stair as a change in elevation of one or more risers, so one step into the garage is a stairway and takes the stairway numbers: a maximum riser of 7 3/4 in (196 mm), measured vertically between the leading edges of adjacent treads, a minimum tread of 10 in (254 mm) where there is more than one riser, and no more than 3/8 in (9.5 mm) between the tallest and the shortest riser in a flight. Those figures are derived on stair dimensions.
Measure from the finished surface at the top of the step to the finished garage slab where your foot lands, not from subfloor to rough slab. The garage floor is laid to fall, so the height changes along the wall, and a floor finish changes it again: rubber of the kind in gym flooring thickness and sizes is 1/4 to 3/4 in (6 to 19 mm) thick and comes straight off the step. On a flight, a 3/4 in mat at the bottom alone breaks the 3/8 in (9.5 mm) limit on variation between risers.
The landing is where the door swing decides everything. Section R311.7.6 wants a floor or landing at the top and bottom of every stairway, at least as wide as the flight and 36 in (914 mm) deep in the direction of travel for a straight run. Its exception reads: a floor or landing "is not required at the top of an interior flight of stairs, including stairs in an enclosed garage, provided that a door does not swing over the stairs."
Why 1 1/2 in is quoted, and why it is the wrong rule#
The other number in circulation, 1 1/2 in (38 mm), comes from Section R311.3.1: the drop at the required egress door, or 7 3/4 in where the door does not swing over the landing. R311.3.2 allows 7 3/4 in at other exterior doors and drops the top landing for two risers or fewer outside. Both are exterior door rules, the ones dimensioned in entry door and approach clearances.
The garage door is not an exterior door. It sits between two enclosed parts of one building, and the stair section says as much by naming "stairs in an enclosed garage" in its own exception. So neither the 1 1/2 in limit nor the two-riser limit in R311.3.2 applies to it. Both sets of rules land on 7 3/4 in, which is why they are merged, and they diverge the moment a door swings the wrong way or the drop needs more than two risers.
States also edit these sections. Minnesota rewrote R311.3.2 so that no landing is needed where an exterior stairway is under 30 in (762 mm) high and the door does not swing over it. The code your building department adopted is the one that counts; the standards and codes reference lists editions.
How much garage depth the step and the swing cost#
Combine the riser and landing rules and one variable remains: the hinge side.
| Drop, house floor to slab | Risers | Treads at 10 in | Depth into garage, door swings into house | Depth into garage, door swings into garage |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 4 in (102 mm) | 1 | 0 | 0 in | 36 in (914 mm) |
| 7 3/4 in (196 mm) | 1 | 0 | 0 in | 36 in (914 mm) |
| 12 in (305 mm) | 2 at 6 in | 1 | 10 in (254 mm) | 46 in (1,168 mm) |
| 15 1/2 in (394 mm) | 2 at 7 3/4 in | 1 | 10 in (254 mm) | 46 in (1,168 mm) |
| 20 in (508 mm) | 3 at 6 11/16 in | 2 | 20 in (508 mm) | 56 in (1,422 mm) |
| 23 1/4 in (591 mm) | 3 at 7 3/4 in | 2 | 20 in (508 mm) | 56 in (1,422 mm) |
| 28 in (711 mm) | 4 at 7 in | 3 | 30 in (762 mm), plus a handrail | 66 in (1,676 mm), plus a handrail |
The treads are minimums, and the handrail becomes mandatory at four risers, so with the door swinging into the house 23 1/4 in (591 mm) is the largest drop that needs neither a landing nor a rail. Splitting a drop into equal risers is the job of the stair rise and run calculator.
Now set those depths against the garage. The planning figures on garage sizes: single, double and triple allow 24 in (61 cm) behind a car and 36 in (91 cm) in front of it, the walkway figure derived on car parking space dimensions. A door swinging into the garage over a single step spends 36 in on a raised platform before anyone has parked, and the bottom of the stair needs its own 36 in of floor, which the slab provides only while nothing is parked on it. The same hinge on the other side costs nothing: on a tight garage, reversing the door is worth a full walkway. The price moves indoors, where a 32 in (813 mm) leaf sweeps a quarter circle of that radius; clear widths per leaf are on doorway sizes.
England: E 30 Sa, a closer and a 100 mm upstand#
Approved Document B, Volume 1, sets out the English guidance. Paragraph 5.6 separates an attached or integral garage from the house with fire-resisting construction of at least REI 30. Diagram 5.1 and Table C1 ask for the door between them to achieve E 30 Sa, given in the same table as FD30S under the national BS 476-22 test: 30 minutes of integrity plus restricted smoke leakage at ambient temperature, with a self-closing device. Paragraph C5 repeats that every fire doorset between a dwellinghouse and an integral garage should be self-closing.
The step works the other way round from the US. Paragraph 5.7 says a door between the house and the garage should meet one of two conditions: the garage floor laid to fall away from the door to the outside, so fuel spills flow away, or the door opening at least 100 mm (4 in) above the garage floor. That is a minimum, set to keep liquid out, where the IRC figure is a maximum set to keep people from falling.
| Point | IRC 2021, where adopted | England, Approved Document B Vol 1 |
|---|---|---|
| Door | 1 3/8 in (35 mm) solid wood or steel, or 20-minute rated | E 30 Sa (FD30S) fire doorset |
| Smoke leakage | Not addressed | Sa: restricted smoke leakage at ambient temperature |
| Closing | Self-closing or automatic-closing | Self-closing device |
| Latching | Self-latching | Not stated in the paragraphs cited |
| Wall and ceiling | 1/2 in gypsum; 5/8 in Type X under habitable rooms | REI 30 from the garage side |
| Door into a bedroom | Not permitted | Not stated in the paragraphs cited |
| Step at the door | Maximum 7 3/4 in (196 mm) per riser | Minimum 100 mm (4 in), or floor falling away |
| Landing | Required only if the door swings over the step | Not stated in the paragraphs cited |
| Purpose of the step rule | Stair safety | Keeping spilled fuel out of the house |
An FD30S rating belongs to the doorset, not the leaf. The Oakwood guide lists what makes it up: intumescent seals that expand with heat, ambient smoke seals, and the closer, installed as one assembly. A fire-rated leaf hung in an old frame with no seals has lost the rating that justified buying it. UK and US leaf sizes are compared on front door sizes and standards.
Approved Document B describes one way to comply with the Building Regulations 2010 in England, and its introduction says other ways may be agreed with building control. Rules that change at a border are collected on interior sizes by country.
When these numbers stop applying#
The IRC figures are the 2021 text as published on UpCodes from a state adoption. The 2015 edition and earlier lack the automatic-closing option, the 2018 wording quoted by I Dig Hardware has no self-latching sentence, and any state can amend the landing and riser sections. The English figures are the 2019 edition of Approved Document B with its amendments, and a house approved under an earlier edition was approved to the rules of its day. Nothing here covers glazing or openings cut into the leaf.
The hall on the house side is dimensioned in entry hall and landing dimensions, the rest of the garage numbers sit on the garage and workshop dimensions hub, and the interior unit converter checks any conversion here.
Frequently asked questions#
Does the door from the garage to the house have to be fire rated?
Not under the IRC. Section R302.5.1 accepts a solid wood door at least 1 3/8 in (35 mm) thick, a solid or honeycomb-core steel door of the same thickness, or a 20-minute fire-rated door. Only the third option carries a rating. In England the answer is yes: Approved Document B asks for an E 30 Sa door, the FD30S that door suppliers sell, fitted with a self-closing device.
Does a garage to house door have to be self-closing?
Yes, in both systems. The 2021 IRC requires the door to be self-latching and equipped with a self-closing or automatic-closing device, the second option having arrived with the 2018 edition. Approved Document B requires a self-closing device on every fire doorset between a dwellinghouse and an integral garage. A door that drifts to within 2 in (51 mm) of the frame and stops has neither closed nor latched.
How high can the step from the house into the garage be?
Under the IRC, 7 3/4 in (196 mm) for a single riser, because one riser is a stair and the stair riser limit applies. More drop than that needs a second riser and a 10 in (254 mm) tread, and each riser in the flight must be within 3/8 in (9.5 mm) of the others. England sets no maximum in Approved Document B, only a 100 mm minimum upstand unless the floor falls away.
Do I need a landing at the door into the garage?
Only if the door swings over the step. The IRC exempts the top of an interior flight, and names stairs in an enclosed garage, provided no door swings over them. A door hinged to open into the house needs no landing on the garage side. A door that opens into the garage needs a landing at house floor level, as wide as the stair and 36 in (914 mm) deep.
Can a regular interior door be used between the garage and the house?
Not a hollow-core one. A standard US interior door is 1 3/8 in (35 mm) thick, which matches the code figure, but the code asks for solid wood or solid or honeycomb-core steel at that thickness. Thickness is not the test. A solid-core leaf of the same size passes, and so does any door carrying a 20-minute label.
Can the garage door open into a bedroom?
No. The IRC does not permit openings from a private garage directly into a room used for sleeping purposes, whatever the door. The door has to open into a hall, a mudroom, a utility room or another room that is not a bedroom. Approved Document B's garage paragraphs have no equivalent sentence, but the door and the REI 30 separation still apply to whichever room it opens into.
Why does the garage floor have to be lower than the house in the UK?
To keep spilled fuel out of the house. Approved Document B gives two options for a door between a dwellinghouse and a garage: lay the garage floor to fall away from the door to the outside so spills flow away, or raise the door opening at least 100 mm (4 in) above the garage floor. A flush threshold is acceptable only with the first.
Is 1 1/2 in the maximum step at a garage to house door?
No. That figure comes from IRC R311.3.1, which governs the required egress door, an exterior door. The garage door is inside the building envelope, and the IRC landing exception for the top of an interior flight names stairs in an enclosed garage. The limits that apply are the 7 3/4 in (196 mm) riser and the rule about the door swing.
Sources and standards referenced#
- 2021 International Residential Code, Sections R302.5 and R302.6, via UpCodes International Code CouncilDoor options, 1 3/8 in thickness, 20-minute rating, self-latching and closing, no openings to sleeping rooms, 26 gage ducts, gypsum board separation
- 2021 International Residential Code, Sections R311.3 and R311.7.6, via UpCodes International Code CouncilExterior door landing rules, and the interior flight exception naming stairs in an enclosed garage
- 2018 Residential Stair Guide Town of Timnath, ColoradoIRC definition of a stair as one or more risers, 7 3/4 in riser, 3/8 in variation, 10 in tread, handrail at four risers
- Is Your Garage Door Self-Closing or Automatic-Closing? Lori Greene, I Dig Hardware, 20 March 2018The 2018 IRC change adding automatic-closing, and the NFPA 80 definition
- Minnesota Rules 1309.0311, amending IRC R311.3.2 Minnesota Office of the Revisor of StatutesA state rewriting the IRC landing exception with a 30 in stair height
- Approved Document B, Volume 1: Dwellings, 2019 edition incorporating amendments HM GovernmentParagraphs 5.6 and 5.7, Diagram 5.1, Table C1 and paragraph C5: REI 30, E 30 Sa, self-closer, 100 mm upstand
- Fire door between a garage and house Oakwood DoorsFD30S meaning and the intumescent and smoke seals that make up the doorset
We cite published codes, industry planning guidelines and manufacturer specifications. Where a figure is our own recommendation rather than a published standard, the text says so. See how we measure.