Garage

What ceiling height do you need for a car lift?

The ceiling figure on a lift's spec sheet is for the lift. The car on it is your problem.

On this page (8 sections)
  1. Four heights on a lift spec sheet, and the one that is not your ceiling
  2. Where 12 ft comes from: columns of 11 ft 2 in to 12 ft 4 in
  3. The overhead switch decides which cars reach full rise
  4. How high the car goes before you can stand under it
  5. Floorplate and short-rise lifts: columns from 93 1/2 in
  6. Four-post storage lifts: Rotary's formula, and the car underneath
  7. What shifts the figure: roof racks, slab fall, the open garage door
  8. Floor area, power and the rest of the bay

Short answer

12 ft (3.66 m) for a standard clear-floor two-post lift: Challenger and Rotary both print it, and it is set by the columns, not the car. Under 12 ft, a floorplate lift with no overhead beam fits from about 10 ft 2 in (3.10 m), and then the car decides: about 10 ft 10 in (3.30 m) to walk upright under a sedan, 11 ft 5 in (3.48 m) under a compact SUV, 12 ft 4 in (3.76 m) under a full-size pickup.

The numbers, at a glance

Clear-floor two-post, 10,000 lb
12 ft (3.66 m)Challenger SA10 and CL10A-XP9, Rotary SPO10 and SPOA10-AV
Floorplate (open-top) two-post
10 ft 2 in (3.10 m)Challenger CLFP9, for the column only
Walk upright under a sedan
10 ft 10 in (3.30 m)Toyota Camry, underside raised to 76 in
Walk upright under a full-size pickup
12 ft 4 in (3.76 m)Toyota Tundra, 78 in tall, 8.5 in clearance
Four-post storage, sedan over sedan
10 ft 5 in (3.17 m)Rotary's formula at the 62 in lock
Four-post storage, SUV over SUV
12 ft 2 1/2 in (3.72 m)Rotary's formula at the 74 in lock
Rotary's ceiling formula
Lock + runway + top car + 2 inRunway 4 in (10 cm) by default
Head clearance under the car
76 in (193 cm)Site's figure: ANSUR II 95th percentile man 73.6 in barefoot
Short-rise lift column
93 1/2 in (2.37 m)BendPak 10AP-SRT, 42 1/2 in rise

A standard clear-floor two-post car lift needs a 12 ft (3.66 m) ceiling, and the reason is the lift, not the car: its columns and the beam across their tops stand 11 ft 2 in to 12 ft 4 in tall. Below 12 ft the choice is a floorplate lift, from about 10 ft 2 in (3.10 m), or a four-post lift, and then the height of the car sets the ceiling. Below, the published heights of two dozen lifts meet Toyota's vehicle heights. Bay widths are on the garage hub.

Four heights on a lift spec sheet, and the one that is not your ceiling#

Every lift maker prints a block of heights, and they measure different things. Rise is how far the arms or runways travel: the car goes up by about this much once the pads touch its lift points, 69 in (1.75 m) on the BendPak 10AP. Maximum lifting height is the pad or runway top at full rise, 82 1/2 in (2.10 m) on the same lift. Overall height is the top of the lift itself, columns or beam; Challenger also lists an "overall height (cylinder extended)" where that is taller. Floor to overhead switch is the bar under the beam that stops the lift when a roof touches it, 139 1/2 in (3.54 m) on the 10AP.

The "ceiling height required" on a spec sheet is the overall height plus a small margin, and nothing else. Measure the way the site's measuring method describes, from the finished slab where the column will stand to the lowest thing above it, and check the lift first, then the car.

Where 12 ft comes from: columns of 11 ft 2 in to 12 ft 4 in#

Clear-floor lifts keep the floor between the columns clear by taking the lift's connections overhead, in a beam. That beam has to sit above the tallest vehicle the lift is meant to take, which is why every 10,000 lb (4,536 kg) clear-floor lift checked here stands close to 12 ft.

Lift (10,000 lb clear-floor unless noted)RiseOverall heightFloor to overhead switchMaker's ceiling
Challenger SA1074 1/2 in (1.89 m)136 1/2 or 142 1/2 in (3.47 or 3.62 m)131 1/8 or 137 1/8 in12 ft (3.66 m)
Challenger CL10A-XP9 (9,000 lb, drive-on pads)70 in (1.78 m)140 in, 143 in cylinder extended (3.63 m)134 1/2 in12 ft (3.66 m)
Challenger CL12A-LC (12,000 lb)80 3/4 in (2.05 m)11 ft 11 in (3.63 m)11 ft 4 1/2 in12 ft (3.66 m)
Rotary SPO1078 1/4 to 83 1/4 in by adapter11 ft 8 1/2 in (3.57 m)Not stated12 ft to 12 ft 4 in (3.66 to 3.76 m)
Rotary SPOA10-AV81 1/2 in (2.07 m)11 ft 11 1/2 in (3.64 m)Not stated12 ft (3.66 m)
BendPak 10AP69 in (1.75 m)145 in (3.68 m)139 1/2 inNot stated
BendPak AL10C (Apex)70 in (1.78 m)148 in (3.76 m)142 1/2 inNot stated
BendPak 10APX (high rise)75 1/2 in (1.92 m)157 in (3.99 m)151 1/2 inNot stated

Set the overall heights against the ceilings and the margin is 1 to 1 1/2 in on the Challenger lifts: the makers' ceiling is the tallest the lift gets plus a little air. BendPak prints no ceiling figure, so the same rule gives its 10AP at least 12 ft 2 in (3.71 m). Heavier and extended lifts go higher: Challenger lists 14 ft 3 in (4.34 m) for its CL12A. A joist or light fitting an inch below 12 ft rules out the common home lift.

The overhead switch decides which cars reach full rise#

A tall vehicle reaches the switch bar before the arms reach the top, and the lift stops there. Switch height less rise is the tallest vehicle that goes all the way up. Vehicle heights are Toyota's published 2026 figures.

Vehicle (Toyota overall height)SA10, high setting (62.6 in)CL10A-XP9 (64.5 in)10AP (70.5 in)10APX (76 in)
Camry, 56.9 in (145 cm)Full riseFull riseFull riseFull rise
RAV4, 66.5 in (169 cm)Stops at 70.6 inStops at 68 inFull riseFull rise
Highlander, 68.1 in (173 cm)Stops at 69 inStops at 66.4 inFull riseFull rise
Grand Highlander, 72.1 in (183 cm)Stops at 65 inStops at 62.4 inStops at 67.4 inFull rise
Tacoma, up to 75.8 in (193 cm)Stops at 61.3 inStops at 58.7 inStops at 63.7 inFull rise
Tundra, 78.0 in (198 cm)Stops at 59.1 inStops at 56.5 inStops at 61.5 inStops at 73.5 in

"Stops at" is the rise left when the roof meets the switch, with the pads set to the lift points before lifting. A stopped lift is not a failure: a Tundra on a 10AP stops at 61 1/2 in, its lowest point about 70 in up, too low to stand under but fine for a brake job.

How high the car goes before you can stand under it#

ANSUR II, the 2012 US Army anthropometric survey, measured the stature of 4,082 men and 1,986 women. Percentiles computed by the site:

Stature, barefoot (ANSUR II)5th percentile50th percentile95th percentile
Women60.0 in (152.5 cm)64.0 in (162.6 cm)68.5 in (174.0 cm)
Men64.9 in (164.8 cm)69.1 in (175.5 cm)73.6 in (187.0 cm)

The site works to 76 in (193 cm) under the lowest point of the car: the 95th percentile man plus about 2 in for shoes and margin. The car rises 76 in less its ground clearance, and its roof sits at that rise plus its height. Add Rotary's default 2 in (5 cm) to the lowest obstruction and an open-top lift needs:

ceiling = overall height - ground clearance + 76 in + 2 in

Vehicle (Toyota)HeightGround clearanceRise to 76 in undersideRoof at that riseCeiling to stand under
GR8651.6 in5.1 in (130 mm)70.9 in122.5 in10 ft 4 1/2 in (3.16 m)
Camry56.9 in5.4 in70.6 in127.5 in10 ft 9 1/2 in (3.29 m)
RAV466.5 in8.1 in67.9 in134.4 in11 ft 4 1/2 in (3.46 m)
Tundra78.0 in8.5 in67.5 in145.5 in12 ft 3 1/2 in (3.75 m)

Rounded up: 10 ft 10 in (3.30 m) for a sedan, 11 ft 5 in (3.48 m) for a compact SUV, 12 ft 4 in (3.76 m) for a full-size pickup. A shorter person subtracts the shortfall from 76 in, inch for inch.

Floorplate and short-rise lifts: columns from 93 1/2 in#

Floorplate, or open-top, lifts run their connections across the floor under a low cover. Their ceiling figure is, again, for the column only.

LiftTypeRiseColumn heightWhat it means
BendPak AL9LC (Apex, 9,000 lb)Floorplate70 in (1.78 m)109 1/2 in (2.78 m)Lowest full-rise column checked
Challenger CLFP9 (9,000 lb)Floorplate78 1/8 in (1.98 m)120 7/8 in (3.07 m)Ceiling required 10 ft 2 in (3.10 m)
BendPak 9APF (9,000 lb)Floorplate70 in (1.78 m)123 in (3.12 m)1 1/2 in floor plate
BendPak 12APF (12,000 lb)Floorplate70 in (1.78 m)144 3/4 in (3.68 m)Tall despite the name "low ceiling"
BendPak 10AP-SRTShort rise42 1/2 in (1.08 m)93 1/2 in (2.37 m)Pads top out at 46 1/4 in

Here the most a car can rise is the ceiling less 2 in and its height. In a 10 ft 2 in (122 in) garage a Camry gets 122 - 2 - 56.9 = 63.1 in, its underside about 68 1/2 in up: a stooping job. A Tundra gets 42 in.

Short-rise lifts fit an 8 ft (2.44 m) garage on paper, 93 1/2 in under 96 in, but a Camry at the 10AP-SRT's full 42 1/2 in has its roof at 99.4 in. In 96 in it gets about 37 in, enough to pull wheels. Working heights for jobs done standing at a car are on the workbench height page.

Four-post storage lifts: Rotary's formula, and the car underneath#

A four-post lift used to park one car above another has short columns, 88 to 102 in (2.24 to 2.59 m) on BendPak's HD-9 range, and the cars decide the ceiling. Rotary publishes the arithmetic in its ceiling height calculator for the Forward Lift EFP8 and EFP9 and the Direct Lift Pro Park range:

ceiling = lock height + runway thickness + top vehicle height + clearance

It defaults to a 4 in (10 cm) runway and 2 in (5 cm) of clearance, with locks every 6 in from 20 in to 68 in (EFP8, Pro Park 8S) or 80 in (EFP9, Pro Park 8 PLUS and 9 PLUS). The runway is added on top of the lock, so the lower car has to fit under the lock height; the site allows it the same 2 in.

Elevation of a four-post storage lift with a Camry parked under another Camry: 62 in lock, 4 in runway, 56.9 in car, 2 in clearance, 124.9 in to the ceiling.Side elevation: a car on the floor, a runway above it with its underside 62 inches up, a second car on the runway, and the ceiling line 2 inches above that car's roof, 124.9 inches above the floor.Lower car56.9 in tallTop car56.9 in tall62 in lock56.9 in124.9 inCeiling, 2 in above the roof4 in runwaySide elevation. Lock height measured to the underside of the runway.
Rotary's sum for two Camry-sized sedans: 62 + 4 + 56.9 + 2 = 124.9 in, a 10 ft 5 in (3.17 m) ceiling.

Worked through with Toyota's heights:

Lower carTop carLockSumCeiling
Camry, 56.9 inGR86, 51.6 in62 in62 + 4 + 51.6 + 2119.6 in, 10 ft (3.04 m)
Camry, 56.9 inCamry, 56.9 in62 in62 + 4 + 56.9 + 2124.9 in, 10 ft 5 in (3.17 m)
RAV4, 66.5 inCamry, 56.9 in74 in74 + 4 + 56.9 + 2136.9 in, 11 ft 5 in (3.48 m)
RAV4, 66.5 inRAV4, 66.5 in74 in74 + 4 + 66.5 + 2146.5 in, 12 ft 2 1/2 in (3.72 m)
Tundra, 78 inCamry, 56.9 in80 in80 + 4 + 56.9 + 2142.9 in, 11 ft 11 in (3.63 m)
Tundra, 78 inTundra, 78 in80 in80 + 4 + 78 + 2164 in, 13 ft 8 in (4.17 m)

A RAV4 underneath needs the 74 in lock, which the EFP8 and Pro Park 8S lack: their 68 in top lock leaves 1 1/2 in over its roof. And order matters: the Tundra over the Camry needs 62 + 4 + 78 + 2 = 146 in, the Camry over the Tundra 142.9 in. Put the taller vehicle on the floor when the lock steps allow.

The 4 in runway is only a default. BendPak's PL-12000DPS gives 74 3/4 in to the top of the runway and 68 1/2 in under it at full height, a 6 1/4 in (16 cm) deck; Challenger's CL4P9S gives 73 1/4 and 67 3/4 in, 5 1/2 in (14 cm). For those, add the top car to the top of the runway: two sedans on a PL-12000DPS at full height need 74 3/4 + 56.9 + 2 = 133.7 in, 11 ft 2 in (3.40 m). Standard storage lifts take a lower car of about 68 in, extended ones (PL-12000DP, CL4P9X) about 80 in, so a full-size pickup underneath means the extended model.

What shifts the figure: roof racks, slab fall, the open garage door#

Anything on the roof. Every sum uses the maker's overall height. A roof box or rack adds its own height, inch for inch.

The slab. A garage floor falls towards the door or a drain, and the garage sizes page works a 1.5 per cent fall to 4 in over 22 ft. Measure headroom where each column stands and where the roof will be, not at the back wall.

The open garage door. An open sectional door, its track and the opener rail hang in the air the raised car wants. The options, from a high-lift track to a wall-mounted jackshaft operator, are in garage door sizes, headroom and backroom. Overhead storage racks are the other usual collision.

Extended columns. They cost their own length: 2 ft takes Challenger's E15 from 14 ft 7 in to 16 ft 7 in, far above the 8 to 10 ft rooms in ceiling height and proportion.

Floor area, power and the rest of the bay#

Headroom is the hard limit; floor area is the soft one. Clear-floor lifts in the table run 129 to 154 in (3.28 to 3.91 m) wide, and Challenger's storage four-posts list bays of 10 x 20 ft (3.05 x 6.10 m) to 14 x 22 ft (4.27 x 6.71 m). Car widths with doors open are in car parking space dimensions, whole garages in standard room sizes, and bench and saw space beside a lift in workshop tool clearances. Power units are 2 to 5 hp at 208 to 230 V; for a charger on the same wall see EV charger placement.

A lift in a garage gym competes with a rack for headroom: home gym size and ceiling height and garage gym layout cover both. Conversions are in the unit converter, terms in the glossary, and how maker figures sit beside codes in standards and codes.

Frequently asked questions#

Can you put a car lift in a garage with a 10 ft ceiling?

Yes, a floorplate two-post or a short-rise lift, not a clear-floor two-post. Challenger's CLFP9 floorplate lift lists a 10 ft 2 in (3.10 m) ceiling and BendPak's 9APF stands 123 in (3.12 m) tall. In 120 in, a Camry (56.9 in tall) can rise about 61 in before its roof is 2 in from the ceiling, which puts its underside near 66 1/2 in: work on a stool or stooped, not standing.

How tall is a two-post car lift?

Between 109 1/2 in (2.78 m) and 16 ft 6 in (5.03 m) in the listings checked. Floorplate lifts run 109 1/2 to 144 3/4 in (BendPak AL9LC to 12APF). Clear-floor 10,000 lb lifts run about 11 ft 2 in to 12 ft 4 in (Challenger CL10AV3 to BendPak AL10C), and extended-height and heavy lifts reach 13 to 16 ft 6 in (Challenger CL12A and E15).

Does a four-post lift need a high ceiling?

Less than a two-post if the lift only stores a car above another. The four columns are short, 79 1/2 to 104 in (2.0 to 2.6 m) on most Challenger and BendPak models, so the cars set the height. Two Camry-sized sedans fit under 10 ft 5 in (3.17 m) by Rotary's formula; two compact SUVs need 12 ft 2 1/2 in (3.72 m).

What is the overhead switch on a car lift?

A bar or paddle under the top beam of a clear-floor two-post lift that cuts the power unit when the vehicle's roof touches it. It sits about 5 1/2 to 8 in below the top of the lift: 139 1/2 in (3.54 m) above the floor on a BendPak 10AP. It is why a tall vehicle on a 12 ft lift stops short of full rise instead of hitting the beam.

How high does a car lift raise a car?

About 69 to 85 in (1.75 to 2.16 m) of travel on full-rise two-post lifts: 69 in on the BendPak 10AP, 74 1/2 in on the Challenger SA10, 84 3/4 in on the Challenger CL12A. Short-rise lifts give 22 in (Challenger SRM10) to 42 3/4 in (BendPak 12AP-SRT), enough for wheels and brakes but not to stand under.

How much ceiling height for a lift with a pickup truck?

About 12 ft 4 in (3.76 m) to walk under a full-size pickup on an open-top lift, from a 78 in (198 cm) tall Toyota Tundra with 8.5 in of ground clearance. On a clear-floor two-post, pick one whose overhead switch sits at least 76 in above its rise: among the 10,000 lb lifts checked, only BendPak's 10APX (151 1/2 in switch, 75 1/2 in rise) takes a 76 in truck all the way up.

Do I need to measure to the ceiling or the garage door track?

To the lowest thing over the lift, which in a garage is rarely the ceiling. Rotary's calculator asks for the clearance to the lowest obstruction, not to the ceiling. Over a lift bay that is usually the open door, its horizontal track, the opener rail or a light fitting, all of which hang below the ceiling plane.

Sources and standards referenced#

  1. BendPak two-post lift specifications: 10AP, 10APX, 12APX, 9APF, 12APF, 10AP-SRT, 12AP-SRT, AL10C, AL9LC BendPakRise, max lifting height with pad, overall height and floor to overhead switch: 10AP 69 in, 145 in, 139 1/2 in; 10APX 75 1/2 in, 157 in, 151 1/2 in; 9APF 70 in, 123 in; AL9LC 109 1/2 in; 10AP-SRT 42 1/2 in, 93 1/2 in
  2. BendPak four-post and parking lift specifications: HD-9, HD-9XW, PL-12000DPS, PL-12000DP BendPakHD-9 family column heights 88 to 102 in; PL-12000DPS max lifting height 74 3/4 in, drive-thru height 68 1/2 in; PL-12000DP 86 3/4 in and 80 1/2 in
  3. Challenger Lifts specifications: SA10, CL10AV3, CL10A-XP9, CLFP9, CL12A, CL16, E15, SRM10, CL4P home storage lifts Challenger LiftsCeiling Height Required beside overall height: SA10 12 ft (142 1/2 in), CLFP9 10 ft 2 in (120 7/8 in), CL12A 14 ft 3 in, CL12A-LC 12 ft, E15 14 ft 7 in; CL4P9S storage clearance 67 3/4 in at 73 1/4 in rise
  4. SPO10 and SPOA10-AV two-post lift specifications Rotary Lift (Rotary Solutions)SPO10 overall height 11 ft 8 1/2 in, required ceiling 12 ft to 12 ft 4 in by adapter; SPOA10-AV 11 ft 11 1/2 in, ceiling minimum 12 ft (12 ft 6 in with Shockwave)
  5. Ceiling height calculator for lifts Rotary SolutionsRequired ceiling = lock height + runway thickness (4 in default) + top vehicle height + minimum clearance to the lowest obstruction (2 in default); locks 20 to 68 or 80 in in 6 in steps, Forward Lift EFP8/EFP9 and Direct Lift Pro Park
  6. Toyota 2026 model specifications Toyota Motor Sales USAOverall height and ground clearance for 13 models: GR86 51.6 in to Tundra 78.0 in; Camry 56.9 in and 5.4 in, RAV4 66.5 in and 8.1 in, Tundra 8.5 in
  7. ANSUR II anthropometric survey, public data files (2012) US Army Natick Soldier RD&E Center, via the OPEN Design Lab and calmcode mirrorStature of 4,082 men and 1,986 women; 95th percentile man 1,870 mm (73.6 in), percentiles computed by the site

We cite published codes, industry planning guidelines and manufacturer specifications. Where a figure is our own recommendation rather than a published standard, the text says so. See how we measure.